What best for water/flood extraction? Truck-mount or portable flood pumper?

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Feb 17, 2018
Real Name
Steve Noftle
I've been running a couple Butler Truck-mounts for the past 14 years in NY. We are primarily a restoration company but we do about 200K in carpet too. We have a couple portables but they don't have the CFM's for suction or capacity for waste water like the Butlers. The cost of purchasing a new Butler is significant so I'm sure there are viable options out there. I'm interested in what other restoration companies are doing for their primary method of water extraction. Thanks!

ACP

Apr 9, 2014
Washington
Real Name
Bjorn Marshall
If your doing that much in just carpet and are primarily restoration then why wouldnt you just buy a brand new butler outright?

or an aero tech

Feb 17, 2018
Real Name
Steve Noftle
Thanks for the feedback. Like I said I've been running two Butlers for the last 14 years and will most likely continue to do so in the future. I'm sure I would maintain one Butler.I love their reliability and convenience but I've heard some successful restoration companies are using portable flood pumpers instead of truck mounts.

rob allen

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Sep 5, 2007
Va.
www.drynclean.com
Real Name
Robert Allen,Jr.
Business Location
United States
There is a company here that does about 3 million a year in flood work. They have no Truckmounts. All portables. Thought that was interesting.

longkenn

May 7, 2011
Winston-Salem, North Carolina
www.sunbreezeclean.com
Real Name
Kenneth Long
Business Location
United States
Use a combination of truckmounts and portables. If you can't reach something with the truck then you can do it with a porty. The last water damage I did we used both and we charged for each extractor which didn't matter whether it was truckmount of porty.

Feb 17, 2018
Real Name
Steve Noftle