Used Hydramaster Boxxer 427? What should I look for? | TruckMount Forums #1 Carpet Cleaning Forums

Used Hydramaster Boxxer 427? What should I look for?

Soofisahab

Jul 23, 2013
Real Name
Nadir Soofi
Hi,

I'm a newbie to the carpet cleaning industry and really need your help!

I'm looking at a Boxxer 427 with 1600 hours on it...how can I determine if the machine is in good shape? How long do these machines typically last?

Thanks

linemech31

Apr 23, 2009
NH
DearbornCleaning.net
Real Name
Andrew Dearborn
Business Location
United States
As far as i know you can no longer get a new engine for that model.
Sooner or later you will need one so keep that in mind if you make an offer on it.
Sent from my LGL86C using TMF Forums mobile app

Jsinopoli003

May 2, 2011
North carolina
www.spectrumfloorcleaning.com
Real Name
James Sinopoli
Business Location
United States
They got rid of that model for a reason. I know a couple people who have the 427 and they had problems, but it may just be fine...but if it were me I may stay away but that's just because of prior experience

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Jamie Sinopoli

matt30577

Premium VIP
Dec 21, 2009
georgia
Real Name
matt wood
Business Location
United States
That model had some serious problems. Problems that the average person can't fix.

vnmineo

Dec 2, 2012
Real Name
vin mineo
Business Location
United States
I have read some bad reviews about that tm but I did read a few that people were happy.....More bad then good though..... Look @ EZ Truckmounts!!!

Mar 23, 2012
Surprise Arizona
Real Name
Ty 212
Business Location
United States
LOVE IT!!!!!! Maintenance!!!

1. Physically check radiator level, not the reservoir but the radiator pop the cap and throw a finger in

See when that motor runs low on coolant and over heats it warps the heads, once that happens you can't replace the heads and yo motor is effed