Knowing your chemicals

Discussion in 'Starting Your Business' started by Predict, Oct 16, 2016.

1. Predict

Predict Member

Oct 15, 2016
    Male
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    I'm very new to the business with no experience in carpet cleaning before hand. My main concern is knowing what and how much chemical to use. How much prespray or soap to use? Or trying to remove coffee stains or red stains what chemicals I'm allowed to mix to make it stronger or how much I need to dilute?
    Also is spraying with enzymes different than the pre spray?
    I understand I have lots to learn and will need much practice on my own carpet.
    Please any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Common janitor

Common janitor Well-Known Member

Apr 5, 2014
    Male
    Ratings:
    +3,200 / 10 / -0
    Go to the Jon Don website and click on education . Their complete IICRC manuals are there for carpet technician and upholstery tech as well . No cost and you'll learn much of what you need to know . As far as how much " soap" to use etc. ALL products will have use instructions on them to go by . Rob Allen ( owner of TMF ) also has videos available in the TMF store that could help you as well . Welcome to the forum !!
    All the Best, Ed

• Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 2
  3. 1ST CHOICE CLEANING

Staff Member Moderator Premium VIP

Mar 30, 2010
    Male
    texas
    Ratings:
    +18,618 / 84 / -0
    Welcome to TMF! The good news is that you are on the forum and there is a ton of information here, starting off there will be a learning curve but the curve will get smaller as you read posts and ask questions here.

You will find that 100 different carpet cleaners use 100 differtent chemicals but for the most part there really isn't a huge difference.