How important is emptying out your waste tank? | TruckMount Forums #1 Carpet Cleaning Forums

How important is emptying out your waste tank?

brian3180

Mar 7, 2010
Texas
Real Name
brian l
Business Location
United States
I sometimes forget and I dump it the next morning. I really didn't think much about it when I had a SS waste tank in my trailer but now I have an aluminum hydramaster waste tank in the van and I get reminded with the stink when I get in the van the next day. Is it bad to leave an aluminum waste tank full all night?

ology

Feb 19, 2010
USA
Real Name
B R
Business Location
United States
Would keep that tank as clean as you can, and empty it.

Luky

Nov 29, 2013
Chicagoland
Real Name
Marian Lukacisin
Business Location
United States
I sometimes forget and I dump it the next morning. I really didn't think much about it when I had a SS waste tank in my trailer but now I have an aluminum hydramaster waste tank in the van and I get reminded with the stink when I get in the van the next day. Is it bad to leave an aluminum waste tank full all night?
It happens that we forget to do stuff. There are at least 2 reasons why we should empty and clean waste tank.
1. Avoiding excess moisture getting to blower lobes
2. Your van is not going to be a stinking dog kennel, especially when your window is opened .
I have not forgotten to dump waste tank yet, but I always welcome an opportunity to clean lightly soiled carpeting
( a lot of it), this way clean water is swirling in the waste tank and rinses the waste tank. To mitigate smell in dump tank I use digesters. After completing job, dumping waste water and airing the blower, I run 1/2 gal of diluted digester trough vacuum port, if I don't have a digester on hand, I use Pro's choice liquid defoamer with Odor Kill. Once a week I hit the whole SS waste tank trough my service opening with 500-600 psi and hot water. In summer time I can use outside water spigot...