How do you know when to use what tool? | TruckMount Forums #1 Carpet Cleaning Forums

How do you know when to use what tool?

Big_Joe

May 31, 2019
Real Name
Joe Merwin
Hello all! I am new to the carpet cleaning industry as well as these forums which are awesome by the way.

I was wondering how do you know what tool you should use for what job?

If you walk into a job and look at the carpets, what tells you whether you should use the wand, a CRB, or a rotary?

Select

Mar 3, 2019
Real Name
John Cartegna
Business Location
United States
Well Im pretty new to this industry as well but I think first its a good idea to try and figure out what customers you will be serving most and go from there. Commercial and residential can be pretty different.

For residential, CRB and wand can make a good combo.

I would suggest start learning about the different types of equipment and what they can do etc. and try to figure out who will be your main customers and start there.

Others will be able to more helpful im sure. Or try searching the forum for specific questions and start learning that way as well.

Welcome to the industry.

Reactions: Big_Joe

george8585

Feb 27, 2011
Earth
Real Name
George
Business Location
United States
Rotary is for Trashed ONLY. I have a T-Rex Jr rotary extractor but only use it a few times a year. Mostly on trashed unoccupied rental properties.

I use a CRB and wand on most jobs but sometimes I will just use a brush and wand if the carpet isn't too old, or soiled.

ACP

Apr 9, 2014
Washington
Real Name
Bjorn Marshall
Rotary for heavy urine jobs, or extreme grease loads... on urine imo a water claw isnt necessary if using a 360 or similar tool with very slow wet and dry passes (much faster than water clawing a bunch of spots one by one.