Heaters

Eagleeye

Jan 3, 2018
Real Name
Jason Rigdon
You guys can re categorize as needed but was wanting to know what everyone’s using for heaters to keep vans warm without a garage. I have been using lasko ceramic heaters for 10 years now but am always looking for the next best thing. The plug starts to melt after a season of use so wanting options

keep it clean

Premium VIP
Dec 3, 2012
Pa
Real Name
Nick
Business Location
United States
Is your van insulated? What size extension cord have you been using? Ive melted the plug ends too. But it was because of it continually running without a break. Non insulated and drafty. Maybe insulation will help if you havent already done that. Or possibly look into 240v 5000w garage heater. More power. Able to keep up with the cold. Will require running new circuit. But maybe worth it in long run.

Reactions: Allied

Eagleeye

Jan 3, 2018
Real Name
Jason Rigdon
It is not insulated and it’s been highs in the teens so i have had 2 running for days and finally got a couple busted pipe jobs so had to use machine and plugs were melted. I bought new extension cords and thought about new heaters again but wanted options. I have ran 2 20 watt breakers from my house to use the 2 different heaters but they are being ran from commercial extension cords. One is a 25 and the other a 50 and I think that’s where the melting comes from between that and running for days

OldCarpetVet

Premium VIP
Nov 2, 2014
Florida
Real Name
Richard Santoro
Get this.

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Tough-Buddy-18000-BTU-Portable-Radiant-Propane-Heater/3011768

You'll never go back to electric again. It'll heat up 400 sq. ft. in no time. For a 400 sq. ft. cabin one propane tank on high will last only a mere 1 1/2 hours. But we're talking a little cargo van in comparison and you'll leave it on low. On low it should last 6 to 8 hours. Plus it holds two tanks.