Great Stuff removal??

Discussion in 'General Carpet Cleaning & Upholstery Discussion' started by Revive Coatings, Oct 14, 2012.

1. Revive Coatings

Revive Coatings New Member

Sep 18, 2012
    Male
    PA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    OK everyone, I am still a rookie and was talking to a friend of mine today about my services. He asked me if there is any way to remove Great Stuff (expanding spray foam insulation) out of carpet. I know this stuff is a pain just to get off of my hands, so I would imagine it is nearly impossible to remove from carpet, but I figured I would ask the experts on here to get your feed back. Thanks in advance!
    Jon

2. Todd the Cleaner

Todd the Cleaner Todd Cottino
    Staff Member Administrator Moderator Premium VIP

Sep 4, 2011
    Male
    Owner / Operator
    Pahrump, Nevada, United States
    Ratings:
    +24,722 / 56 / -0
    Let the great stuff completely cure for 24 hours and then take a hammer and beat it and try to break it down as much as you can and vacuum away all you can break off. The more you can remove with the hammer and vacuum the better. After that I would try some odorless mineral spirits(OMS). I got some OMS on some styrofoam before and the styrofoam just disintegrated. It may or may not work on great stuff but it is somewhere to start. I would saturate a white towel with OMS and lay it on the great stuff for 10-15 minutes and then see what happens. Do not dump OMS right on the carpet as it can damage the glues holding the carpet together and cause delamination.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Revive Coatings

Sep 18, 2012
    Male
    PA
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0 / -0
    Thanks Todd! It has been there for a few months so it is good and cured. I will give the hammer and OMS a shot and report back.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Todd the Cleaner

Todd the Cleaner Todd Cottino
    Staff Member Administrator Moderator Premium VIP

Sep 4, 2011
    Male