First time dealing with freezing temps

Sapphire Steamer

Feb 13, 2011
CA
Real Name
Bret Furtado
Business Location
United States
It's looking to be pretty cold this week, and this is my first time dealing with this machine and cold temperatures. Tonight it's going to be 40, but tomorrow will be 32 and low 30's the rest of the week. I park my truck under an overhang outdoors. Was considering putting a space heater inside, but chickened out after seeing a bunch of burned vans on another thread here. I'm going to drain the water box and pick up some thick moving blankets to cover the machine tomorrow. I'm running a Titan 575. I have a few questions if you guys don't mind,

- I was reading the manual regarding winterizing the machine, which I haven't done before. It calls for a recirculator connector, which I don't have. It calls for me to put 2 gallons of 50 / 50 antifreeze into the water box and run it through the machine using the recirculator fitting. I'm guessing this fitting sends the water back into the waste tank? If so, I have an upholstery tool that will do that.

- Unfortunately my heat exchanger went out recently and I have a new one on order, which is what I hear typically gets damaged from freezing temperatures. Are other components at risk from freezing or am I in the clear if I already have my heat exchange bypassed?

- Are space heaters a bad idea?

Thanks folks!
- Bret

AffordableCarpetCare

Aug 30, 2013
Lebanon TN
Real Name
Matthew Patterson
Business Location
United States
I run a space heater or tank-top propane heater.(depending on how cold) we occasionally get down to single digits and 0*F. Aside from your HE you also have all your hoses, pump, sprayers, wands, chemicals to keep above freezing. Personally i dont let my truck get below 40* inside

Reactions: Sapphire Steamer

Sapphire Steamer

Feb 13, 2011
CA
Real Name
Bret Furtado
Business Location
United States
Thanks for the advice guys. Here's what I prepped last night, will run it tonight.