Fiberlock Shockwave on Carpet?

Silas

Sep 22, 2016
Real Name
Doug Hill
Hello ladies and gents,

I'm still learning the industry and have a question- Is it practical to use Shockwave to "disinfect" carpet? I have a customer requesting this (use of Shockwave) along with a carpet cleaning. If so, should this be applied beforehand and allowed to work previous to the cleaning? I've read the Shockwave label where it states in some applications to allow it to dry. I'm thinking perhaps apply the Shockwave, dwell, apply prespray and clean? Could anyone offer a quick summary as to its use with carpet, or is that even recommended?

TIA for any assistance!

Silas

Sep 22, 2016
Real Name
Doug Hill
Thank you Odin. I figured the idea to be somewhat suspect but understand that someone who treated mold present on the walls suggested it and Shockwave by name. This may be to provide the owner with piece of mind; I didn't know if there was some legitimate, recommended technique of applying this to carpet. Apparently this area of the home was closed up without adequate air circulation. I'm making no claims as to success in treatment to the owner, this being wholly his request.

Mama Fen

Jul 18, 2012
Real Name
no name
Business Location
United States
Thank you Odin. I figured the idea to be somewhat suspect but understand that someone who treated mold present on the walls suggested it and Shockwave by name. This may be to provide the owner with piece of mind; I didn't know if there was some legitimate, recommended technique of applying this to carpet. Apparently this area of the home was closed up without adequate air circulation. I'm making no claims as to success in treatment to the owner, this being wholly his request.
Shockwave is a quaternary ammoniated disinfectant, and as such its use is regulated by the Federal government. The user MUST follow all directions on the label, as noted below: