Does anyone use a pressure washer for carpet cleaning? | TruckMount Forums #1 Carpet Cleaning Forums

Does anyone use a pressure washer for carpet cleaning?

dclinc

Aug 13, 2011
Pennsylvania
Real Name
Dominic DiAngelous
Business Location
United States
I am just getting started, and I was wondering if anyone uses a pressure washer with the chemical feed? I've seen a few that come with chem injection and adjustable psi, so what difference would it make if I used one of these instead of replacing the pump in my porty? If it could work, it would also give me the flexibility to start t&g without buying a new machine. My set up is a prochem cheyenne, air hog, and generator, so I'm looking at electric.

If you have, or currently use one, what brand/type/model? Thanks.

Todd the Cleaner

Todd Cottino
Staff member
Administrator
Premium VIP
Sep 4, 2011
Pahrump, Nevada, United States
www.toddscleaningservice.com
Real Name
Todd Cottino
Business Location
United States
The only problem I can see with using a pressure washer pump with a portable would be the fact that most portable pumps move about 1 gallon of water per minute (GPM) where as pressure washers move 3 to 4 GPM, so even if the pressure is set about the same you will still be using 3 to 4 times as much water and possibly end up overwetting the carpet and leaving it wet for days. Try it out on your living room and see what happens and let us know if there is a difference in dry time.

dclinc

Aug 13, 2011
Pennsylvania
Real Name
Dominic DiAngelous
Business Location
United States
One of the units I was looking at was a BE, up to 1100 psi/2gpm/1.5hp. It said chemical injection at reduced psi, so it wouldn't be putting that much down, right? Do you think that two 5.7 three stages would pick that up?

grimel

Apr 18, 2010
TN
Real Name
George Rimel
Business Location
United States