Cleaning Travertine

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Rusty Nail

Mar 10, 2013
Real Name
Conrad Robinson
Business Location
United States
I am just starting out in the hard surface business. Can I clean travertine using my turbo spinner with the brush attachment? I did a search but could not find a answer. I appreciate any help.

Jul 25, 2009
FL
Real Name
Alberto Rivero
Business Location
United States
Just cleaning? yes alkaline solution and spinner.

Apr 23, 2013
Windsor, California
Real Name
Mike Camacho
I'd start out at 500 psi, then move up as needed. Travertine is soft and will etch easier than you think. If its a flat finish, you can prescrub with Nyla grit or green pad. All dirt and stains will turn into a slurry an steam away at low pressure after that. Glossy finish needs to be rehoned.

Lance Golden

Jun 20, 2008
Phoenix,Az
gtcwc.com
Real Name
Lance Golden
Business Location
United States
I'd start out at 500 psi, then move up as needed. Travertine is soft and will etch easier than you think. If its a flat finish, you can prescrub with Nyla grit or green pad. All dirt and stains will turn into a slurry an steam away at low pressure after that. Glossy finish needs to be rehoned.
I don't even know where to begin with this... It sounds like you really need to see if Rob Fairfield is doing a class near you... ;)

Lance Golden

Jun 20, 2008
Phoenix,Az
gtcwc.com
Real Name
Lance Golden
Business Location
United States
I am just starting out in the hard surface business. Can I clean travertine using my turbo spinner with the brush attachment? I did a search but could not find a answer. I appreciate any help.
If you are just starting out, i would suggest taking a class of some kind on hard surface.
Most importantly, Travertine is calcium filled, so NO acids, unless you are trying to "etch"
Stay with "Neutral" stone and tile cleaners, and Water only rinses.