Business Location
United States
Here is my experience locally...

Robert86

Sep 28, 2016
Missoula, MT
Real Name
Robert Phillips
Contractors is a pretty broad category. Appropriate dress is going to vary a lot depending on what the job is. If I'm hiring someone to pour concrete I'm not sure I want them showing up in Khakis and a polo. I want them to get that patio done correctly, and in reasonable time, I don't want them worried about getting their clothes dirty. That said I have seen guys when I worked in construction that were pretty grubby, and that was by the standards of guys that showed up to work in dusty old trucks, torn jeans and holey T-shirts.

For us in the cleaning industry, appearance is important. We need to look as clean as our customers want their homes of buildings to be. I expect a construction worker to show up in work boots and stained blue jeans and a little dusty. That's still cleaner than the job he's going to be doing. I wouldn't hire him to clean my home though.

Reactions: barefoot

rob allen

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Sep 5, 2007
Va.
www.drynclean.com
Real Name
Robert Allen,Jr.
Business Location
United States
Contractors is a pretty broad category. Appropriate dress is going to vary a lot depending on what the job is. If I'm hiring someone to pour concrete I'm not sure I want them showing up in Khakis and a polo. I want them to get that patio done correctly, and in reasonable time, I don't want them worried about getting their clothes dirty. That said I have seen guys when I worked in construction that were pretty grubby, and that was by the standards of guys that showed up to work in dusty old trucks, torn jeans and holey T-shirts.