Burned marble? | TruckMount Forums #1 Carpet Cleaning Forums

Burned marble?

blackscell

Mar 21, 2019
Real Name
mike sadal
Hi there guys!

I am new to polishing. I decided to buy a single disc machine and learn to polish my new house. Everything went well, I used only the 800/1500/3000 pad then L5 extra powder.

Everything was fine, it got nice and shiny. Loved it so far.

Then there were some edges I couldn't reach, so someone who gave me tips to help me polish told me to buy a wet polisher, small one. Did so, with small diamond discs. I used the 3000 disc with water on one tile to test it out. Unfortunately, it was not such a great test spot since it's visible in the living room.

It had a roundish mark, I showed this to my friend and he told me to start from grit 50 towards 3000, not skipping steps in between. After I got to pad 500 the mark just seemed to get worse and worse, after showing this to him he told me to stop. It wasn't working for whatever reason.

I redid the spot with the single disc machine, same combo as before 800/1500/3000/L5. The mark is still there, it feels really rough. I have no clue where I have gone wrong.

How would I fix this? And what went wrong?
thumbnail_20190322_033150.jpg

PistolPete

Sep 28, 2014
Real Name
Peter Dymond
Looks like you stayed too long in one spot. If you can replace the tile that would be better than trying to level it out.
You could have watched videos on YouTube that show you how to feather out each grit in wider rings.

Reactions: Dafloorman

blackscell

Mar 21, 2019
Real Name
mike sadal
Looks like you stayed too long in one spot. If you can replace the tile that would be better than trying to level it out.
You could have watched videos on YouTube that show you how to feather out each grit in wider rings.
Thanks for the reply. It was probably under 15 seconds that it happened, could it have been that the machine was too fast? Since I put it on max speed.