Advertising, such thing as to much?

Discussion in 'Carpet Cleaning Marketing' started by Predict, Jan 30, 2017.

1. Predict

Predict Member

Oct 15, 2016
    Male
    Ratings:
    +13 / 0 / -0
    I'm in my first year of the business. My advertising so far is Google ads and Google maps roughly around 750$ month and it usually doesn't hit the max budget. I live in a town of 70k people with maybe dozen other carpet cleaners. I worry about over advertising. Is there such thing? Spending more on advertising than there are of people to see it?

I've been looking at advertising in a local coupon book and Costco but I worry about it not paying off because of the lack of population and the amount of CC. If I spend $2000 on advertising on a good source will it always pay off? I'm kinda paranoid and curious if anyone has any experience with advertising and taking a loss or if it's always worth it.

2. PistolPete

PistolPete Active Member

Sep 28, 2014
    Male
    Ratings:
    +352 / 0 / -0
    Experimentation and tracking.
    Run a test ad and see how it performs before going all out on it.
    Start gathering competitors ads (cut out of magazines, coupon books etc.) and see what they repeat.
    The only thing that is too much is how much you spend. No guarantees on anything and you can burn money quick if there is zero return.
    The general rule is if a test ad pulls, then increase it.
    Some ads have a lifespan, they work well at first but then slow down. Some can run forever. There are several guys locally who run the same ad all the time. It must be working.
    Test offers, coupons, prices etc.
    Good luck, this is the hardest part! But when you crack it, it will pay off like a vending machine: 4:1 ROI and higher
    BTW, I haven't cracked it yet!

3. 1ST CHOICE CLEANING

Staff Member Moderator Premium VIP

Mar 30, 2010
    Male
    texas
    Ratings:
    +18,618 / 84 / -0
    Advertising too much? Sure if it is bringing in more jobs than you can handle.