mrcarpet

Dec 6, 2009
Columbia, MO
www.maxcaremark.com
Real Name
Rob Decker
Business Location
United States
I need to know how to mix a 7% Ammonium Hydroxide solution, as I have just had a brush with a chair bleeding.IMG_0969.JPG

I have some chemistry background. From what I understand, Ammonium Hydroxide is simply ammonia and water. I also understand shelf life of the mixture can be an issue, so I am asking for a bit of professional advisement here.

mrcarpet

Dec 6, 2009
Columbia, MO
www.maxcaremark.com
Real Name
Rob Decker
Business Location
United States
IMG_0998.JPG
I got it to the point illustrated above with a white towel and steam iron applied for heat. It began to bleed into my towel, and I stopped because I know I can make it migrate. Now I just need to mix the ammonia solution and use an air compressor to blow the fugitive back into the backing.
The point should be made that a colorfastness test was used before cleaning, and it did not show as a bleeder. I think a missed step during drying actually caused this, and I am willing to learn this lesson publicly, in order to help others.

Reactions: wandwizard

mrcarpet

Dec 6, 2009
Columbia, MO
www.maxcaremark.com
Real Name
Rob Decker
Business Location
United States

Tron

Aug 3, 2010
Business Location
United States
My IICRC UPT manual says that 7% Ammonium Hydroxide, when applied to fugitive dyes, will cause them to migtate to the backing when used in conjuction with an air compressor to "blow" the dye past the face fabric.
Sounds like a good idea, please keep us posted on how this works, I'm learning on this thread, not teaching. I'd have probably skipped this upholstery job myself, kudos for trying it.

Johnny Bravo

Hacking my way though life, one room at a time.
Apr 25, 2011
San Pedro, Ca
TheJohnnyOnTheSpot.Com
Real Name
John Sheridan
Business Location
United States
View attachment 9810